Too much wine, a bad plan, and the new, best way to live

5 01 2011

DAY FIVE : Genesis 9 v. 18  – 11 v. 9; Matthew 4 v. 23 – 5 v. 20; Psalm 4


Oh, Noah.
How the mighty fall, eh.
They youngest son fancies a prank, and ends up the butt of his brothers jokes, for generations and generations.
Is that where we get the phrase, “Hamming it up” ?

Babel and Beatitudes.
Interesting having these stories together.
What’s the problem building a city, building a tower ?
It’s the motivation – to reach the heavens and ‘make a name for ourselves’.
(Oh I do like the Brick Testament – check some of it out….)
 
      

Contrast this with the list of true meaning and purpose, blessedness in life experienced by the :’poor in spirit, mourners, meek, those with hunger and thirst pangs for right-living, the merciful, the pure in heart, peacemakers, persecuted’.
Those who share the experience, and choose to live this way will obtain heaven and inherit the earth, as well as knowing comfort, fulfilment and mercy, and get to see God, and to be known as His child.
WOW!

As the ‘light of the world’, it’s okay to be a city-builder, if the light draws attention and praise not to self, but to God.

See, it’s all about motivations.
Bigging ourselves us, or bigging up God.

So, my re-created thoughts today:

“Put me to what You will, rank me with whom You will.
 Put me doing, put me to suffering.
 Employed for You, or laid aside for You.
 Exalted for You, or brought low for You.”
(Methodist Covenant Prayer)

The Psalmist writes:
“Let the light of Your face shine upon us, O Lord.
 You have filled my heart with greater joy
 than when their grain and new wine abound.
 
 I will lie down and sleep in peace,
 for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

O Lord, my Lord,
guard my motivations,
that I may seek today,
not my renown, but Yours,
not my reward, but Yours,
not my favour, but Yours.

May I know Your blessings,
in my frailty and want;
and may I trample on no-one,
not wanting to improve my lot, my standing,
at the expense of others.

And may I lie down this night,
in the light of Your presence,
the joy of Your peace,
and in Your eternal safe-keeping.
AMEN.

 
A little aside:
What a dull place the world would be if we did all speak the same. I love languages, their variety, and the rich complexity of trying to translate, along with the joy of getting to know another culture, and discovering new ways of communicating.
I remember to pray for the Bible translators, this Biblefresh year, and commit to raise money and awareness of the need for making the Bible accessible for all languages and cultures…… 
Buenos dias !!

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 01 2011
Jeff Whittle

thanks Phil. Doing things for the glory of JW and not JC is some thing that I have to look out for.

5 01 2011
revphil2011

Cheers, Jeff.
We all need to watch that one (not ‘doing things for the glory of Jeff Whittle’, but ‘self’ !!).
Hope you’re having a JC glorifying day.
Shine on, Jeff !

Leave a Reply

