Well, well, well….come to me, my burden is light

14 01 2011

DAY FOURTEEN : Genesis 29 v. 1 – 30 v. 43; Matthew 11 v. 16 – 30; Psalm 9 v. 7 – 12;


THE MEETING AT THE WELL – Jacob meets Rachel at the well, and I’m beginning to see how much the local well was a real meeting place, and my re-created mind is picturing Jesus as the water of life (‘whoever drinks the water I give will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give will become a spring of water welling up to eternal life…’). A place of refreshing and renewing.
Lord, lead me to the living water of eternal life today.

JACOB KISSED RACHEL AND BEGAN TO WEEP ALOUD – I pondered why Jacob might have wept. I was left thinking of all the tension and stress built up within him, with all that had happened within the family, and his heartfelt covenant-promise to God (yesterday), as well as meeting the beautiful Rachel and knowing inside that God’s promise to him was being fulfilled. I guess it was an overwhelming moment. Happy tears. Love it!

AND THEN…..- well, I lose it a bit then. Laban tricks Jacob into marrying Rachel’s big sister, Leah (with the weak eyes), but gives Rachel to him, as well. “Jacob loved Rachel more than Leah”…poor Leah!

AND THEN MORE…. – Jacob fathers eleven sons from four women. I lost track of who he was with, when, and my head can’t understand how a wife would offer her maidservant to her husband….but then, there’s a lot of rivalry here, and the times were obviously different (maybe…). Here’s my breakdown of what happened with whom…
Leah is mum to Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah, Issachar, Zebulun (note how God seems to bless Leah, because she is the ‘unloved’)
Bilhah (Rachel’s maidservant) is mum to Dan, Naphtali
Zilpah (Leah’s maidservant) is mum to Gad, Asher,
Rachel is mum to Joseph (ah ha, the favoured son, Joseph, only son of the favoured wife….here goes….)

YIPPEE…A GIRL – Dinah gets a mention…why ? (More about her in ch. 34)

MY FAVOURITE LINE SO FAR – the little interlude about the mandrake plants in v. 14 – 18 is fascinating.

If it’s not bargaining for birthrights with lentil stew, it’s offering Jacob’s bed for the night…
“He (Jacob) can sleep with you tonight in return for your son’s mandrakes” (I think I laughed out loud at this line……must’ve been pretty impressive mandrakes Reuben found !!)



(the mandrake plant sometimes known as the ‘love plant’ (the Hebrew translation of the word))

SPECKLED SHEEP – Jacob matches his ‘fathering children’ with rearing ‘speckled sheep’, not entirely honest gain. It must be time for him to head off home soon.

MATTHEW – Jesus gets some things off his chest.
People today, he says, just moan and groan that they don’t get what they want, when what they need is right in front of them….(not just in those days, eh?)
Places that have seen his miraculous acts haven’t repented and turned wholesale to God, woe to them.
BUT – some get it, some see it, and Jesus praises God for the ‘little children’ who see what the ‘wise and learned’ miss (love it!). Verse 27 reminds us of how Jesus, the Son, reveals the Father to those who will see it.

COME TO ME – Jesus invites the weary and burdened to find ‘rest’ in him. The Christian life, though a high and tough calling (see yesterday), is designed such that Jesus takes the weight, the burden, as we are ‘yoked’ with him (and with others). I led a retreat last year on this very verse, and we spent some time considering the yoke, individually shaped to avoid hurting, and always tethering more than one animal together.
May we know the ‘lightness’ of Jesus’s yoke upon us today as we serve Him in the world.

PSALM 9 “Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek You”.
The psalmist gets it…those who seek, will find, and God’s promises are forever and ever.

My re-created thoughts today….

I yoke myself to You, today,
please take the stress and strain
I yoke myself to You, today,
your strength and direction I gain
I yoke myself to You, today,
my every step You guard
I yoke myself to You, this day,
grant rest, when life gets hard.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

